KS2 Blog#27 My swimming in Manchester-By Leo McCrea.

My swimming in Manchester

gold-medal-games-rushcliffe-arena-wk2-wed-30th-july-1427-p

On Friday 22nd November 2014, I went up to Manchester to compete at the British Gas Open Disability Short Course Championships swimming. When we left on the Friday, by car, it took us 6 HORRENDOUS HOURS!!! because of the busy traffic. On the Saturday, I had to wake up at 6:00am to the disturbing sound of my alarm clock, to get to the aquatic centre. It was also the first time I have been there (because it is usually held in Sheffield). Once I got there, the warm up started at 7:30 so I could prepare myself.

After the warm up, with my team South West, I then had to get ready for my first race which was 100m (2 lengths) freestyle. Like always, I felt nervous. It was a fantastic race, my entry time was 1:55 and I got a PB (personal best) which was a brilliant 1:48 so I did a 7 seconds PB. Also, I got a GOLD MEDAL for it, which I was very proud of. I was really happy with that race, but I then had to go for my other race, which was 100m breastroke. My entry time was 2:30 and my time was 2:18, which is an amazing 12 second PB. Luckily, I came first for that race, with a gleaming GOLD MEDAL. My final race was the 50m freestyle, which I entered for 52:62 and fortunately got 51:28 so again another 1 second PB, which I was really proud of.  Besides I got another GOLD MEDAL.

Unfortunately I could not stay for the following day because I had to travel to London to go and see my aunty and uncle.

I feel that I did a great job because I have put a lot of serious practice into my technique and power. Also, it was my fourth time at a national competition and this helps me build my confidence in swimming. Also I look forward to swimming again next year in the nationals.

By Leo McCrea

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments